Search Gear
 

Afro-Beat Genius Femi Kuti Touring the US This Summer

June 1, 2007
share

There is enormous interest around Femi in 2007, in that it is 10 Years since his fathers death and it is 200 years since the abolition of slavery, an issue that Femi is very outspoken on.

The Definitive Collection: Femi Kuti draws on all 3 of Femi's albums including tracks from the rare first self-titled album, with stunning tracks "Wonder Wonder" and "Survival". Also included is his duet with Rachid Taha singing the haunting "Ala Jalkoum" and a remake of one of Fela's favorites, "Water No Get Enemy" which was on the Red Hot and Riot tribute album. This is coupled with a limited edition bonus CD of 10 of the finest mixes of all things Femi Kuti.

"Femi is one of the most dynamic and invigorating figures around." The Times

"One of the true giants of African music." Q

Tour dates:

2-Jul Monday Summerfest MILWAUKEE

4-Jul Wednesday Comerica City Festival DETROIT

6-Jul Friday Ottawa Blues Festival OTTAWA

7-Jul Saturday Quebec Festival QUEBEC CITY

8-Jul Sunday Paradise BOSTON

11-Jul Wednesday Summerstage NYC

12-Jul Thursday Philadelphia Theater of the Living Arts PHILADELPHIA

13-Jul Friday 9:30 Club WASHINGTON DC

14-Jul Saturday Variety Playhouse ATLANTA

16-Jul Monday Stubb's AUSTIN

18-Jul Wednesday ORPHEUM FLAGSTAFF

19-Jul Thursday HOB SAN DIEGO

20-Jul Friday HOB LOS ANGELES

21-Jul Saturday Fillmore SAN FRANCISCO

22-Jul Sunday Truckee Regional Park TRUCKEE

25-Jul Wednesday Showbox SEATTLE

26-Jul Thursday Commodore Ballroom VANCOUVER

27-Jul Friday Horning's Hideout PORTLAND

29-Jul Sunday The Depot SALT LAKE CITY

30-Jul Monday Belly Up ASPEN

31-Jul Tuesday Boulder Theater BOULDER

2-Aug Thursday Minneapolis Zoo Amphitheater MINNEAPOLIS

3-Aug Friday Lollapalooza Festival CHICAGO

Show Comments

These are my comments.

Reader Poll

Do play more hardware or software synths?


See results without voting »